{Libertarian Party of Michigan}

History and Archives
Defender of Liberty Awards
Recollections on our 25th Anniversary

Defender of Liberty Awards

Defender of Liberty Awards ("Libbies") have been presented at our annual LibertyFest Banquet to a maximum of four select individuals, Libertarian or otherwise, who have made notable personal efforts in the defense of liberty. Winners must live and/or work in the state of Michigan.

Three categories have been established:
1) Spokesperson for Liberty - a member of the community whose patriotism and conviction have inspired contributions to the cause of Liberty
2) Promoter of Liberty - A Libertarian whose efforts have done the most to promote the LP and Libertarian principles
3) Producer of Liberty - a dedicated, behind-the-scenes Libertarian whose quiet labors over the years exemplifies the backbone of the LP. (A fourth award is available to be given at the judge’s discretion.)

Defenders of Liberty Recipients:


Tom Crosslin
Csaba Csere
Joann Karpinski
Nancy O'Brien


Bill Bradley
Joann Karpinski
Bill Shotey
Tom Shull


Mark Heil
David Littman
Al Titran & Rosemary Racchi
Emily Salvette


Ben Bachrach
Bob Black


Jon Coon
Keith Edwards
Phil O'Halloran


Richard Ask
Barb Goushaw
Todd and Sharon Greene
Gary Stewart and Karen Mazarella

Last Updated:12/14/01 - by webmaster@lpmich.org.